Code du Pèlerin

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

5ac0de96ed61e644482234a3d6e39e621. The Christian life is a journey in the following of Christ who says to us: ” Come, follow me!”

It is a question ” of following in the footsteps of Our Lord Jesus-Christ “, as St. Francis does not cease saying it. Any Christian life is a great pilgrimage with Christ, and for us it happens on the roads of the Franciscan tradition.

Francis even summarizes it in a short ” code of the pilgrim ” (2 C 59).

2. A walk supposes obviously a departure ” Quit! … Sell what you have!”

The very first requirement of the pilgrim is then necessarily poverty: not to settle down, not to appropriate. No cumbersome luggage, material or spiritual provisions…

3. This poverty puts one at the mercy of the people

It is necessary to dare to ask, wait from the others, to accept, to receive: ” eat what is offered to you “… The pilgrim is a ” beggar from the others.”

4. This dependence ultimately promotes an attitude of gratitude. All is received, not like due but like a free gift which gives rise mainly to astonishment, amazement, gratitude and a profound joy.

5. The pilgrim is striving towards a goal “he is home-sick for the Father’s House.” His road is revitalized by hope, he goes towards a goal, the Living Presence that fills up this Kingdom, and with Jesus he goes to the Father.

6. His journey is marked out with relays but which are only relays, because there is no final arrival here below. The successive goals, which are proposed to him, are stages, springboards towards the final goal, ” the new heavens and the new earth”(2P 3, 13). All the good things discovered on the road (creation, people…) are as announcements, preparations, promises, deposits of the fullness, which await him on arrival. Francis liked the earth as the way to the Kingdom. (2C 165)

7. This walk is not done as a solitary. On the road the Pilgrim joins other walkers He will add to the rows of the Pilgrim People. His road is interdependent, fraternal. On the road, one helps the other, shares his resources, they go forward together, one initiates himself to the joy of being together, which will fill up the Kingdom. Each meeting is the beginning of an arrival.

8. There are also all those whom one meets on the road How not to share with them the Good News. The peace of the Kingdom on which he has fixed his eyes, reflects already on the face of the pilgrim. The pilgrim becomes a messenger: he ” is sent ” towards men. The Gospel of the sending on the mission, in which Francis recognizes his vocation, traces the code of the pilgrim: hospitality, hope and peace.

9. We see that the life of Francis, his life of pilgrim proceeds according to a double movement:

• A movement by which one returns towards the centre to reload and remake his forces: return to the fraternity after the mission (the “chapters”), tentative in Rome to be inserted within the Church….

• And a movement by which one is sent towards the exterior, towards the others, farther and farther.

Double movement like that of breathing, the heart, the life.

10. There is a link between pilgrimage of life and the Eucharist

• Eucharist, bread of the way, daily bread for the ‘course to be made, like the daily manna in the desert.

• Eucharist anticipation of the feast of arrival, of the festal meal, which will bring together all the pilgrims to the table of the Father.

Eucharist collects in it all the pilgrimage: it is at the same time announcement and beginning of realization, way and term, ” already ” and ” not yet “.

11. The road which Christ invites us to take after his example is the road towards Jerusalem, the Road of Easter, that which crosses through suffering to go from death to life. As says Francis: ” to pass with him from death to life,” to pass from this world to the Father.

12. At the time of passing from this world to the Father, Jesus invents the vocation of the pilgrim: the gesture of the washing of the feet, to tear oneself off from his tranquillity in order to pass on to the ways of service.

Francis had received this gesture of Jesus like the very expression of his vocation and that of his brothers, the brothers minor: ” The one who wishes to be the greatest, let him be the smallest, the minor “.

From a text by Fr.Ignace Etienne Motte

Code du Pèlerin

Print Friendly
saint-jacques-de-compostelle-472157-540x310

Pèlerin

1. La vie chrétienne est une marche à la suite du Christ, qui nous dit : « Viens, suis-moi ! »
Il s’agit de « suivre les traces de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ », comme ne cesse de le dire François. Toute vie chrétienne est un grand pèlerinage avec le Christ, et pour nous il passe sur les routes de la tradition franciscaine.
François la résume même dans un bref « code du pèlerin » (2 C 59).

2. Une marche suppose évidemment un départ :
« Quitte !…Vends ce que tu as ! »
La toute première exigence du pèlerin est alors nécessairement la pauvreté : ne pas s’installer, ne pas s’approprier. Pas de bagages encombrants, de provisions matérielles ou spirituelles…

3. Cette pauvreté met à la merci des gens.
Il faut oser demander, attendre des autres, accepter, recevoir : « mangez ce qu’on vous offrira »… Le pèlerin est un « mendiant des autres. »

4. Cette dépendance suscite en définitive une attitude de gratitude. Tout est reçu, non comme un dû mais comme un don gratuit. Ce qui fait naître l’étonnement, l’émerveillement, la reconnaissance et la joie profonde.

5. Le pèlerin est tendu vers un but : « il a soif de la patrie. » Sa route est dynamisée par une espérance, il va vers un but, la Présence Vivante qui emplit ce Royaume, avec Jésus il va vers le Père.
6. Son voyage est jalonné de relais, mais qui ne sont que des relais, car il n’y a pas d’arrivée définitive ici-bas. Les buts successifs qui lui sont proposés sont des étapes, des tremplins vers le but final, « les cieux nouveaux et la terre nouvelle »(2P 3, 13). Toutes les bonnes choses découvertes sur la route (la création, les personnes…) sont comme des annonces, des préparations, des promesses, des arrhes de la plénitude qui l’attend à l’arrivée. François aimait la terre comme le chemin du Royaume. (2C 165)

7. Cette marche ne se fait pas en solitaire. Le Pèlerin rejoint sur la route d’autres marcheurs. Il va grossir les rangs du Peuple Pèlerin. Sa route est solidaire, fraternelle. On s’épaule sur la route, on partage ses ressources, on avance ensemble, on s’initie à la joie d’être ensemble qui emplira le Royaume… Chaque rencontre est un commencement d’arrivée.
8. Il y a aussi tous ceux que l’on rencontre sur la route. Comment ne pas partager avec eux la Bonne Nouvelle. La paix du Royaume, sur lequel il a les yeux fixés, se reflète déjà sur le visage du pèlerin. Le pèlerin devient un messager : il est « envoyé » vers le hommes. L’évangile de l’envoi en mission dans lequel François reconnaît sa vocation, trace le code du pèlerin ; l’hospitalité, l’espérance et la paix.

9. On constate que la vie de François, sa vie de pèlerin se déroule selon un double mouvement :
• Un mouvement par lequel on revient vers le centre pour se recharger et refaire ses forces : retour en fraternité après la mission (les chapitres »), démarche à Rome pour s’insérer dans l’Eglise….
• Et un mouvement par lequel on est envoyé vers l’extérieur, vers les autres, de plus en plus loin.
Double mouvement celui de la respiration, celui du cœur, celui de la vie.

10. Il y a un lien entre pèlerinage de la vie et l’Eucharistie :
• L’Eucharistie, pain de route, pain quotidien pour l’étape à faire, comme la manne journalière dans le désert.
• L’Eucharistie anticipation du festin d’arrivée, du repas de fête qui réunira tous les pèlerins à la table du Père.
L’Eucharistie ramasse en elle tout le pèlerinage : elle est à la fois annonce et début de réalisation, chemin et terme,  » déjà » et « pas encore ».

11. La route que le Christ invite à prendre à sa suite est la route vers Jérusalem, la Route de Pâques, celle qui traverse la souffrance pour aller de la mort à la vie. Comme dit François : « passer avec lui de la mort à la vie », passer de ce monde au Père.

12. Au moment de passer de ce monde au Père, Jésus invente la vocation du pèlerin : le geste du lavement de pieds, s’arracher à sa tranquillité pour passer sur les chemins du service.
François a recueilli ce geste de Jésus comme l’expression même de sa vocation et celle de ses frères, les frères mineurs :
« Celui qui veut être le plus grand, qu’il se fasse le plus petit, le mineur ».

Extrait d’un texte de Fr. Ignace Etienne Motte